In This Section
Quick Links
Host Societies

2021 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture

Tony Hunter, PhD, from the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, is the British-American scientist who discovered tyrosine phosphorylation and that the oncogene Src is a tyrosine kinase (TK). This discovery is nothing less than saying Dr. Hunter gave birth to the field of tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs), which are prototypes of targeted cancer therapies. Its emergence made a milestone of cancer therapy.

He will present his lecture "Tyrosine Phosphorylation — From Discovery to Drug Development and Beyond" at Experimental Biology 2021 on Tuesday, April 27 from 1-2 p.m (Eastern Time).

About the Tang Prize

In the advent of industrialization and globalization, humanity has greatly enjoyed the convenience brought about by science and technology, reaping unprecedented benefits made possible by progress and development. Yet, humanity also faces a multitude of critical environmental, socio-cultural, and ethical issues on an unparalleled scale, such as climate change, inequality, and moral degradation. Against this backdrop, Dr. Samuel Yin established the Tang Prize in December 2012 to encourage individuals across the globe to chart the middle path to achieving sustainable development by recognizing and supporting contributors for their revolutionary efforts in the four major fields of Sustainable Development, Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology, and Rule of Law. The Tang Prize is truly global in reach, with laureates selected on the basis of the originality of their work along with their contributions to society irrespective of their nationality or ethnicity.

Rooted in the long-standing cultural traditions of Chinese philosophical thinking and in an outlook of convergence and mutual enrichment with other traditions, the Tang Prize aims to provide fresh impetus to promote first-class research and development in the 21st century. Ultimately, the Tang Prize seeks to bring about positive change to the global community and to create a brighter future for all humanity.


About the Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science

The Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science recognizes original biopharmaceutical or biomedical research that has led to significant advances towards preventing, diagnosing and/or treating major human diseases to improve human health.  

Past EB Tang Prize Lectures

James P. Allison, 2015 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Tasuku Honjo, 2016 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Emmanuelle Charpentier, 2017 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Feng Zhang, 2018 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Brian Druker, 2019 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture

For more information on these laureates, please visit the Tang Prize Foundation website.

Host Societies

Copyright © 2021 Experimental Biology (EB) | Experimental Biology® is a federally registered trademark of EB.